About Us

Georgetown Women in Medicine (GWIM) is an organization whose mission is to promote the professional advancement of Georgetown University School of Medicine (GUSOM) women medical faculty. 

Our goal is to establish policies and a working environment that promotes equality and diversity in hiring, promotion, and compensation throughout the Medical Center. 

We sponsor Events & Programs designed to develop leadership skills, enhance communication networks, and increase involvement in the Medical Center's growth. We focus on three Strategic Priorities each year. We welcome your involvement in working on these priorities. Please contact gwim@georgetown.edu to get involved. 

How Do You Get Involved with GWIM?

Meet other faculty from both Georgetown University School of Medicine and MedStar Georgetown University Hospital at our programs, meetings and special events.

Learn about resources both within and beyond Georgetown to help you advance  your career, gain additional perspective and enhance skills that promote professional achievement, balance and recognition. Click here to find out about upcoming events.

Be Heard
Voice your opinion about topics and concerns that are important to you as a member of the faculty. 

Join Our Mailing List

If you would like to be on our email list, just send your preferred email address and contact information to us at gwim@georgetown.edu. That's all it takes!


Compensation Equality





Position Name


Nady Golestaneh, Ph.D.
President-Elect Kimberly Davis, Ph.D.
Vice-President, Clinical Caren Sabina Palese, M.D.
Vice President, Basic Science Ludise Malkova, Ph.D.
Vice- President, Clinical Science Dionne Smith Cover- Appiah, Ph.D.
Treasurer Temitayo Oyegible, M.D., Ph.D.
Secretary Suzanne O'Neill, Ph.D.
Immediate Past-President  Kristi Graves, Ph.D.



Robin Gross, M.D.

Robin Tucker, DVM

Kirsten Hawkins, M.D.

Ayesha Shajahan-Haq, Ph.D.

LaTasha Seliby, MD

Virginia Steen, M.D.

Erica McClaskey, M.D., M.S.

Judy Wang, Ph.D.

Eileen Moore, M.D.

Filipa Lynce, MD

Sonal Jagasia, MD

Evagelia (Lia) C Laiakis, PhD

Email GWIM@georgetown.edu if you would like access to the GWIM Board Meeting Google calendar.


Year Position  Name
SMWF 1994-1997 President Terry Taylor, MD
SMWF 1997-1999 President Marilee Cole, MD
SMWF 1999-2001 President Bonnie Green, PhD
SMWF 2001-2003 President Miriam Toporowicz, MD, MPH
SMWF 2003-2005 President Rhonda Friedman, PhD
GWIM 2005-2006 President Leslie Walker, MD
GWIM 2006-2009 President Kathryn Taylor, PhD
GWIM 2009-2011 President Offie Soldin, PhD
GWIM 2011-2013 Co-Presidents  Karen Gale, PhD
Pamela Saunders, PhD
GWIM 2013-2015 President Stacey Kaltman, PhD

  SMWF=Society of Medical Women Faculty