Annual Awards

Georgetown Women in Medicine board members with roses.
GWIM Board members with Estelle Ramey, Ph.D.

GWIM strives to recognize faculty who are devoted to the ideals of academic medicine. To this end, we hold the GWIM Annual Awards Reception, which honors recently appointed, promoted and tenured women faculty, as well as two named awards, an achievement award, and a mentorship award from a partnering institution.

  • Estelle Ramey Mentorship Award
  • John Eisenberg Career Development Award
  • Karen Gale Outstanding Achievement Award
  • School of Nursing & Health Studies (SNHS) Mentorship Award for Women in Health Studies 

The John Eisenberg Career Development Award was established in 2002 and is given annually to four women faculty who are selected to attend the Association of American Medical College‚Äôs Women Faculty Professional Development Seminar. This is a competitive selection process in which women who show the most potential for leadership within GUMC are selected to attend.

The Estelle Ramey Mentorship Award was established in 2000 to honor faculty who have provided outstanding encouragement, support, and mentorship for Georgetown University School of Medicine (GUSOM) or MedStar Georgetown University Hospital (MGUH) women faculty to reach their maximum professional potential. GUSOM or MGUH women faculty nominate and vote for the Ramey Mentorship Award candidates. Both male and female faculty are eligible to win this award. 

Eligibility for Ramey Award Nominees: Male or Female faculty member with an appointment at GUSOM or MGUH.

Eligibility for Ramey Award Nominators: Female faculty member with an appointment at GUSOM or MGUH. View the electronic nomination form

The Estelle Ramey Mentorship Award winner will be selected by an electronic voting process after nominations are received.

In the Fall of 2008, GWIM established a new award, the Karen Gale GWIM Outstanding Achievement Award. This award will be given to a female faculty member within GUMC/GUH who has demonstrated outstanding achievement through her research, education or service, who is recognized at a national or international level, and who has also contributed to the Georgetown community. Each year, this award will serve to highlight the accomplishments of GUMC/GUH women faculty.

Eligibility for Gale Award Nominees: Female faculty member with an appointment at GUSOM or MGUH.

Eligibility for Gale Award Nominators: Male or Female faculty members with an appointment at GUSOM or MGUH. Download the nomination instruction form.

The Karen Gale Outstanding Achievement Award winner will be selected following the review of nominations by an independent review committee.

Theinaugural School of Nursing & Health Studies (SNHS) Mentorship Award for Women in Health Studies was first presented in 2017. The award acknowledges mentoring as a valuable skill in which a faculty member serves others in promoting their professional achievement, development, and socialization into the academic role and community. 

Eligibility for Nominees: Female faculty member with an appointment at the School of Nursing & Health Studies (SNHS).

Eligibility for Nominators: Any faculty member with an appointment at SNHS. Please click here to be taken to the electronic nomination form. 

The SNHS Mentorship Award for Women in Health Studies will be selected by an electronic voting process after nominations are received.

View the details for each award.  

The next Annual Awards Reception will be held December 2019.

John Eisenberg Career Development Award Winners

2018 Recipients

Nassim Zecavati, M.D., MPH
Suzanne C. O’Neill, Ph.D.
Sejal Bavishi, M.D.
Lindsay Kobayashi, Ph.D.

2017 Recipients 

Henghong Li, Ph.D.
Sonal Jagasia, M.D.
Chaitra Ujjani, M.D.

2016 Recipients 

Huei-Ting Tsai, Ph.D.
Hilary T. Wolf, M.D.
Megha Shah Fitzpatrick, M.D.
Ayesha Shajahan-Haq, Ph.D. 

2015 Recipients

Evagelia C. Laiakis, Ph.D.
Heidi Young, M.D.
Amrita K. Cheema, Ph.D.
Yuliya Rekhtman, M.D.

2014  Recipients

Rebecca B. Riggins, Ph.D.
Maria Marquez, M.D
Ludise Malkova, Ph.D.
Jenny Hanching Lin, M.D.

2013 Recipients

Alfiee M. Breland-Noble, Ph.D., MHSc.
Jessica M. Jones Ph.D.
Hosai Hesham, M.D.
Erica McClaskey, M.D., M.S.
Aruna R. Natarajan, M.D., Ph.D.
Susan K. Wollersheim, M.D.

2012 Recipients

Suzanne C. O’Neill, Ph.D.
Nazaneen Grant, M.D.
Rochelle E. Tractenberg, Ph.D
Yumi S. Jarris, M.D.

2011 Recipients

Jennifer Eng-Wong, M.D., M.P.H.
Kristen B. Hawkins, M.D., M.P.H., F.A.A.P.
Daisy Lazarous, M.D.
Pamela A. Saunders, Ph.D.

2010 Recipients

Shawna Willey, M.D.
Robin Gross, M.D.
Nady Golestaneh, Ph.D.
Ranit Mishori, M.D.

Estelle Ramey Mentorship Award Winners

Year & Recipient

2018: Priscilla A. Furth, M.D.
2017: Princy N. Kumar, M.D., F.A.C.P., M.A.C.P.
2016: Claudine Isaacs, M.D.
2015: Dorothy Ann Richmond, M.D., F.A.A.P.
2014: Stephen Ray Mitchell, M.D., M.B.A.
2013: Offie Soldin, Ph.D., M.S., M.B.A.
2012: Jane M. Fall-Dickson, Ph.D.
2011: Princy N. Kumar, M.D.
2010: Jeanne Mandelblatt, M.D., M.P.H.
2009: Kenneth L. Dretchen, Ph.D.

2008: Aziza Shad, M.D.
2007: Joseph Verbalis, M.D.
2006: Marilee Cole, M.D.
2005: Rhonda Friedman, Ph.D.
2005: Shryl Sistrunk, M.D.
2004: Kathryn Sandberg, Ph.D.
2003: Miriam Toporowicz, M.D., M.P.H.
2002: Bonnie L. Green, Ph.D.
2001: Karen Gale, Ph.D.
2000: Phyllis Magrab, Ph.D.

Karen Gale Outstanding Achievement Award Winners

Year & Recipient

2018: Rochelle E Tractenberg, Ph.D., M.P.H.
2017: Sonya Malekzadeh, M.D., F.A.C.S
2016: Jacqueline Jonklaas, M.D., Ph.D., M.P.H.
2015: Jeanne Mandelblatt, M.D., M.P.H.
2014: Virginia D. Steen, M.D.
2013: Bonnie L. Green, Ph.D.

2012: Guinevere F. Eden, Ph.D.
2012: Rhonda B. Friedman, Ph.D.
2011: Kathryn Sandberg, Ph.D.
2010: Priscilla Furth, M.D.
2009: Jeanne Wrathall, Ph.D.
2008: Phyllis Magrab, Ph.D.
2008: Zofia Zukowska, M.D., Ph.D.